Jad Fair & Daniel Johnston - It's Spooky


  • £32.99

First time on vinyl in 30 years! Bonus flexi-disc features previously unreleased Daniel Johnston classic “I Live My Broken Dreams”.

Gatefold jacket with printed innersleeves containing extensive liner notes from Everett True, Jeff Feuerzeig (The Devil & Daniel Johnston, director), Jad Fair and Kramer. Sound restoration and remastering by Kramer.32 songs including bonus track “Ashes On The Ground”.

"I first heard Daniel in 1985. Half Japanese had a show in Austin and Daniel's manager Jeff Tartakov gave me a tape of "Hi How Are You?". I loved it and began corresponding with Jeff and Daniel. A few years later I was in NYC to take part in a recording session of Moe Tucker at Kramer's studio Noise New York. Daniel was at the studio and he and I became friends. Daniel recorded two songs with lyrics I wrote. He recorded "Do It Right" for Moe's album, and "Some Things Last A Long Time" for his album "1990". Soon after his time in NYC I invited him to my home and we had a week to record the songs for "It's Spooky". I considered Daniel to be a genius. I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with him. I'm so grateful to have it released again and it's sounding better than ever thanks to an amazing mastering job by Kramer" - Jad Fair

"This is the sound of friendship, of love unfurling.” Everett True

“I never saw anything like the force-of-nature that was Daniel Johnston. Ever. And i'm sure I never again will. But there's more than just one force-of-nature in American music; Jad Fair is a hurricane unto himself.” - Kramer


  1. It's Spooky
  2. Summer Time
  3. I Met Roky Erickson
  4. Happy Talk
  5. McDonalds On The Brain
  6. I Did Acid With Caroline
  7. If I'd Only Known
  8. Tongues Wag In This Town
  9. Tomorrow Never Knows
  10. Oh Honey
  11. A Vow Of Love
  12. When Love Calls
  13. Frankenstein Vs. The World
  14. Hands Of Love
  15. Kicking The Dog
  16. What I've Seen
  17. Something's Got A Hold On Me
  18. Villian
  19. Chords Of Fame
  20. Ostrich
  21. Casper The Friendly Ghost
  22. First Day At Work
  23. Fun And Games
  24. Nothing Left
  25. Memphis Tennessee
  26. Come Back
  27. Tears Stupid Tears
  28. The Making Of The Album
  29. Get Yourself Together
  30. What The World Needs Now
  31. Sweet Loafed
  32. Ashes On The Ground


Limited pressing of 1500 on Casper-white vinyl 2LP + 7" Flexi; includes download card.



We Also Recommend