Robespierre's Velvet Basment by Jacobites on Easy Action Records (the album cover features a black and white photograph of Nikki Sudden and Dave Kusworth stood on a street with medieval-looking buildings behind them; at the top of the photograph are the band name and album title in stylistic dark pink text).

Jacobites - Robespierre's Velvet Basement


  • £12.99

Formed in 1984 by Nikki Sudden (Swell Maps) and Dave Kusworth (Subterranean Hawks), Dave Lemon and Epic Soundtracks, Jacobites' influential second album, Robespierre's Velvet Basement, was originally released by Glass Records in 1985, and is one of the highlight's of both Sudden's and Kusworth's careers. 

This deluxe reissue includes an extra disc with all the songs that were always intended to be included on the album (due to cost restraints, the original 1985 double-album plan was shelved, and a single LP was released). 


  1. Big Store
  2. Snow White
  3. When the Rain Comes
  4. Every Girl
  5. Fortune of Fame
  6. Hearts Are Like Flowers
  7. It'll All End Up in Tears
  8. She Never Believes
  9. Silken Sheets
  10. Ambulance Station
  11. Son of A French Nobleman
  12. Where the Rivers End
  13. All the Dark Rags
  14. Into My Arms
  15. If I’m Crying
  16. Country Girl
  17. Sloth
  18. Someone Who Cares
  19. Before I Die
  20. Pin Your Heart to Me
  21. Road of Broken Dreams
  22. One More String of Pearls
  23. I Am Just A Broken Heart
  24. Only Children Sleeping 


  • Remastered in 2019 by Anders Peterson 
  • Features artwork redesigned by Dave Twist who designed the original album, plus new liner notes and photographs  
  • Double-CD housed in deluxe gatefold card jacket with 7mm spine and inner sleeves 





see also: 
Nikki Sudden & Dave Kusworth - Shame For The Angels EP   7" 
Nikki Sudden - The Bible Belt   2LP | CD 
Swell Maps - Mayday Signals   2LP | CD 


browse collections: 
New Wave collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend