Hibiscus by J. Zunz on Rocket Recordings

J. Zunz - Hibiscus


  • £15.99

Hibiscus is Lorena Quintanilla's - better known up until this point as one half of Mexican duo Lorelle Meets The Obsolete - second solo album under the name J Zunz, after 2017’s Silente, ans is the result of a metamorphic process whereby the minimal is rendered maximal and the personal fused with the political.

The initial vision for the J. Zunz project was for Lorena to strip her approach down to the basics - “I remember I was reading a biography of John Cage and that book detonated something in me. The author was referring to the influence of Buddhism and meditation, and modern artists like Sonia Delaunay, Lucio Fontana, Julio Le Parc, Duchamp, futirism. I was very charged with ideas.”

“Lorelle is a collaboration, so every individual idea is transformed into something else. And I love that, but somehow I felt that I needed another outlet. I just needed simplicity.”

Yet the strikingly confident and singular Hibiscus marks a move on sonically from earlier comfort zones in her work, into minimal electronics, hypnotic repetition and compelling trance states, arriving at a soundworld in which cyclical synth patterns, eerie ambient textures and cathartic vocal exhortations coalesce into a beguiling atmosphere of otherworldly intensity. Although some might hear echoes amongst these songs of the like of Angelo Badalementi’s ghostly raptures, the bleak epiphanies of Nico’s Marble Index or Fifty Foot Hose’s spare sci-fi psychedelia, both the approach and the resulting tapestry here are Lorena’s and hers alone.


  1. Y
  2. Four Women and Darkness
  3. Júpiter
  4. 33:33
  5. White Labels
  6. Overtime
  7. America Is A Continent
  8. Ouve-Me





We Also Recommend