Inventions - Continuous Portrait


  • £16.99
  • Save £6

On their first album together since Maze of Woods (2015), Portland Oregon's Matthew Robert Cooper (Eluvium) and Mark T. Smith (Explosions in the Sky) further their creative curiosities as Inventions.

Continuous Portrait is an album of strange hypnosis, punctuated by songs that venture quite far from the respective oeuvres of Cooper and Smith, and a playful sense of exploration, pleasure, and ceremonial melancholia informs the entire album.

Inventions has always been the product of two friends who find comfort and inspiration in the genuine surprise of creating and combining sounds. Continuous Portrait whirls and hums and invites us to invoke our inner playfulness and welcome a greater joy into our lives, if only for a moment.


  1. Hints and Omens
  2. Calico
  3. Continuous Portrait
  4. Outlook for the Future
  5. Close to People
  6. Spirit Refinement Exploder
  7. The Warmer the Welcome
  8. A Time in My Life
  9. Saw You in a Movie


We Also Recommend