The Goon Sax - We're Not Talking


  • £19.99



The Goon Sax are James Harrison, Louis Forster and Riley Jones from Brisbane, Australia. Still in high school when they made their first album Up To Anything in 2016, their brand of awkwardly transcendent teenage guitar pop took them into end of year lists for BBC 6Music, Billboard and Rough Trade, and earned them raves from the Guardian, Pitchfork, Spin, Uncut, Rolling Stone and elsewhere. According to Metacritic, Up To Anything was the 8th best-reviewed debut album anywhere in the world in 2016.

Their second album, We're Not Talking shows how much can change between the ages of 17 and 19. It's a record that takes the enthusiasms of youth and twists them into darker, more sophisticated shapes. Relationships are now laced with hesitation, remorse, misunderstanding and ultimately compassion. Lines like, "When the bus went past your house and past your stop my eyes filled with tears" (from “We Can’t Win”) and "I’ve got a few things above my bed but it feels so empty, I’ve got spaces to fill and we're not talking" (from “A Few Times Too Many”), are quite simply heartbreaking.

Available on blue vinyl and CD.



  1. Make Time 4 Love
  2. Lost Love
  3. She Knows
  4. Losing Myself
  5. Somewhere In Between
  6. Strange Light
  7. Sleep EZ
  8. We Can't Win
  9. A Few Times Too Many
  10. Now You Pretend
  11. Get Out
  12. Till The End




We Also Recommend