The Alan Lomax Recordings by Fred McDowell on Mississippi Records (the album artwork features a black and white photograph of Fred McDowell playing guitar superimposed on a black and white photograph of a rural landscape scene with a small farmhouse in the background).

Fred McDowell - The Alan Lomax Recordings


  • £23.99

On the first day of fall, 1959, in Como, Mississippi, a farmer named Fred McDowell emerged from the woods and ambled over to his neighbour Lonnie Young’s front porch with a guitar in hand. Alan Lomax and Shirley Collins were there recording the Young brothers’ fife and drum ensemble, as well as the raggy old country dance music of their neighbours, the Pratcher brothers, and they had no idea what to expect from this slight man in overalls. They certainly didn’t expect that Fred would soon become internationally known as one of the most original, talented, and affecting country bluesmen ever recorded. 
Accompanied on some songs by others who were present, including Rosalie Hill and Sidney Carter, these are the incredible first recordings made of Fred McDowell - before the folk festivals and blues clubs, before “Mississippi” was inserted in front of his name, before the Rolling Stones covered his 'You Got To Move.' They’re the sound of the music McDowell played on his porch, at picnics, and juke joints; with his friends and family; occasionally for money but always for pleasure. 


  1. Shake ‘Em On Down 
  2. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl 
  3. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning 
  4. Fred McDowell’s Blues 
  5. Woke Up This Morning With My Mind On Jesus 
  6. Drop Down Mama 
  7. Going Down To The River 
  8. Wished I Was In Heaven Sitting Down 
  9. When The Train Comes Along 
  10. When You Get Home Please Write Me A Few Of Your Lines 
  11. Worried Mind Blues 
  12. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning (instrumental reprise) 


  • US import 
  • Released in collaboration with the Alan Lomax Archive 
  • Remastered from 24-bit digital transfers of Alan Lomax’s original tapes 
  • Includes double-sided insert with historical information and annotations by Arhoolie Records’ Adam Machado and the Alan Lomax Archive’s Nathan Salsburg 




see also: 
Memphis '69: The 1969 Memphis Country Blues Festival   DVD 


browse collections: 
Blues collection 
Americana collection 
Traditional & Folk Music collection 
Mississippi Records collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend