The Definitive Falcons Collection on History Of Soul Records

The Falcons - The Definitive Falcons Collection: The Complete Recordings


  • £22.99

Mid 50s Detroit was a hotbed of teen talent, all aspiring to sign a recording contract, get famous and buy a big car. Scores of young black vocal groups practised their harmonies in stairwells or under street lamps, dreaming that one day their time would come. The Falcons were one of these but because of their gospel background and thanks to the guiding influence of manager and mentor, Robert West, they went on to become the first soul group. Who knows: if Eddie Floyd, Mack Rice, Wilson Pickett/Joe Stubbs, Willie Schofield and Lance Finnie had stuck together, they may well have rivalled other Detroit super groups such as the Temptations and Four Tops for success.

This four-CD set brings together all known recordings by the original Falcons, along with alternate takes, guest appearances, cover versions and songs musically supervised or written by members of the group. Solo recordings by group members are also included from 1956 to 1963, the time they were recording together.

The set is also, in a sense, a history of soul itself, showing how the genre develops from its early stirrings in doo-wop, taking in R&B and gospel along the way and culminating in two of the very first records that can definitively be described as soul: the Wilson Pickett-led tracks 'Take This Love I’ve Got' and 'I Found A Love', the first two tracks on this compilation.



CD1: The Classic Falcons & Solo 45s
  1. Take This Love I’ve Got
  2. I Found A Love
  3. I Don’t Want No Part Time Love (Wilson Pickett)
  4. Just For Your Love
  5. I’ll Never Find Another Girl Like You
  6. You’re So Fine
  7. That’s What I Aim To Do (45rpm)
  8. You Must Know I Love You (45rpm)
  9. Country Shack
  10. I + Love + You
  11. Workin’ Man’s Song
  12. Pow! Your in Love
  13. Anna
  14. Billy The Kid (45rpm) (Wilson Pickett)
  15. You’re On My Mind (Wilson Pickett) 
  16. Let’s Kiss and Make Up
  17. Swim
  18. Lah-Tee-Lah-Tah
  19. Darling
  20. She’s My Heart’s Desire (45rpm) (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  21. Feel’s Good (45rpm) (Mack Rice)
  22. Set My Soul On Fire (Eddie Floyd)
  23. Let Me Be Your Boy (Wilson Pickett)
  24. My Heart Belongs to You (Wilson Pickett)
  25. Keep On Loving Me (Joe Stubbs)
  26. What’s My Destiny (45rpm) (Joe Stubbs)
  27. The Whip (45rpm) (Mack Rice)
  28. Will I Be The One (Eddie Floyd)
  29. Baby I’m Coming Home (Mack Rice)

CD2: The Lupine Tapes
  1. (I Don’t Want No) Part Time Love (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  2. My Baby (Mack Rice)
  3. You Killed The Love (extended mix) (Bettye Lavett)
  4. Tell It To My Face (Bobby Williams)
  5. She’s My Heart’s Desire (mono mix) (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  6. I Ain’t No Cryin’ Man
  7. I Got A Feeling
  8. You’re On My Mind
  9. I’ll Be Home (Eddie Floyd)
  10. I’m Depending On You (Bobby Williams)
  11. You’ll Never Change (Bettye Lavett)
  12. The Whip (mix) (Mack Rice)
  13. Feels Good (mix)
  14. A Deed To Your Heart (Eddie Floyd)
  15. Billy The Kid
  16. What’s My Destiny (extended mix) (Joe Stubbs)
  17. She’s My Heart’s Desire (stereo mix) (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  18. You’ve Got A Friend
  19. I Tried (Eddie Kirkland)
  20. I Got The Blues (Gene Martin)
  21. Hey Hey (Joe Stubbs)
  22. What to Do (45rpm) (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  23. The Swim
  24. Anytime Anyplace Anywhere
  25. Since You’ve Been Gone
  26. I Am So Tired (Eddie Kirkland)
  27. Lonely Nights (45rpm) (Gene Martin)

CD3: The Later Falcons plus Demos & Covers
  1. Fine Fine Girl
  2. Oh Baby
  3. Has It Happened To You Yet
  4. Lonely Nights
  5. Love The Way You Walk
  6. Never Find Another Girl Like You
  7. She´s My Heart´s Desire (demo) (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  8. Whose Little Girl Are You
  9. That’s What I Aim To Do (alt mix)
  10. You Killed The Love (45rpm) (Bettye Lavett)
  11. So Pretty Baby (Eddie Kirkland)
  12. What To Do (stereo mix) (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  13. We Met In A Dream 
  14. Lonely (Eddie Floyd)
  15. Since You’ve Been Gone (The Conquerors)
  16. Stick By You
  17. You’re So Fine (Dorothy Berry)
  18. He’s So Fine (The Corvells)
  19. I Found A Love (Maxine Davis)
  20. I Found A Love (Pt 1) (Joe Woods)
  21. Short & Nappy
  22. Lonely Nights (alt mix) (Gene Martin)
  23. Round & Round
  24. I Am Her Yo Yo Man (Eddie Floyd)
  25. Lonely (alt mix) (Eddie Floyd)
  26. People Gonna Talk About You (Eddie Floyd)
  27. What To Do (mono mix) (Benny McCain & The Ohio Untouchables)
  28. Skinny Girl
  29. I Found A Love (Demo) (The Fabulous Playboys)

CD4: The Early Falcons
  1. Baby That’s It
  2. This Day
  3. Sent Up
  4. Can This Be Christmas
  5. I Wonder
  6. Something Hit Me
  7. Love At First Sight
  8. This Heart Of Mine (Kudo)
  9. Romanita
  10. Searching For You Baby (Joltin' Joe Howard)
  11. Baby Won’t You Change Your Mind (Joltin' Joe Howard)
  12. Please Don’t Leave Me Dear
  13. No Time For Fun
  14. (When) You’re In Love
  15. Juke Hop
  16. Girl Of My Dreams
  17. Let It Be Me
  18. This Heart of Mine
  19. Hurry, Arthur Murray (The Newports)
  20. Chicky Chop Chop (The Newports)
  21. Goddess Of Angels
  22. You Must Know I Love You (Added brass mix)
  23. You’re Mine
  24. Wonderful Love
  25. Waiting For You
  26. The Teacher
  27. When You’re In Love (big piano mix)
  28. You Must Know I Love You (big bass mix)
  29. That’s What I Aim To Do (twist beat)


Comes with 24-page booklet with liner notes by Keith Rylett, including track-by-track annotations; housed in DVD-style case





view all new releases 


We Also Recommend