Etta James Rocks The House on Jackpot Records

Etta James - Etta James Rocks The House


  • £24.99

Etta James' iconic live recording, originally released in December 1963. 

Best known for the lush 1961 rendition of the ballad 'At Last,' Etta James is also celebrated for having recorded one of the best live albums of all time, Etta James Rocks the House. Recorded in September 1963 at the New Era Club in Nashville, James is captured at her performance peak. The foundation for her reputation as a fiery no-holds-barred performer was firmly established in this recording. 

Blues, soul, jazz, R&B, and rock vocalist Etta James, needs no introduction. An icon from early rock’n’roll’s pantheon of divas, she has inspired five decades of listeners and fellow artists with her vocal stylings. From Janis Joplin to Beth Ditto to Beyonce, her expressive and guttural style has been imitated but never quite matched. Her powerful version of 'Something’s Got a Hold on Me' will shake you. Her impassioned version of 'All I Could Do Is Cry,' will break you. 

Jackpot Records' lovingly produced reissue is presented in the original artwork and includes three bonus tracks which have only ever been released previously on CD. 


  1. Something's Got A Hold On Me 
  2. 2. Baby What You Want Me To Do 
  3. What'd I Say 
  4. Money (That's What I Want) 
  5. Seven Day Fool 
  6. Sweet Little Angel 
  7. Ooh Poo Pah Doo 
  8. Woke Up This Morning 
  9. Ain't That Lovin' You Baby 
  10. All I Could Do Is Cry 
  11. I Just Want To Make Love To You 


  • Pressed on blue vinyl 



also available:  
Etta James - At Last!   LP 
Etta James - The Hits   CD 
Etta James - The Montreux Years   2LP | 2CD 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend