Various - Duke Reid International Disco Series: The Complete Collection


  • £16.99

Duke Reid International Disco Series: The Complete Collection compiles the entire series of late-Seventies reissues and remixes of Duke Reid-produced hits, originally recorded for his Treasure Island label during the Sixties and early-Seventies. 

The dancehall phenomenon of the late-Seventies resulted in renewed interest in the sounds and rhythms of rocksteady and early reggae; a development that prompted noted producer Sonia Pottinger to revisit many of the classic recordings in Duke Reid’s legendary Treasure Isle catalogue that she now owned. 

The Duke had been a dominant force on the Jamaican music scene during the Sixties and early Seventies, when he had produced an array of hugely popular sides from his famed Treasure Isle studio on Bond Street, Kingston. Upon his premature demise in 1976, Pottinger inherited the business, although it was not until the close of the decade that that the true value of Reid’s work began to be appreciated once more. 

Aside from re-releasing numerous classic Treasure Isle sides on 7”, and a trio of 'Hottest Hits' long players, Pottinger also had Treasure Isle sound engineer, Errol Brown, remix many of Reid’s most significant sides, updating the sound to fit the new dancehall style. The result was a series of 12” singles that saw issue in Jamaica on either Treasure Isle or her own High Note label. 

Virtually all of these recordings, including hits by Alton EllisPhyllis DillonThe TechniquesThe Paragons, along with four previously unreleased sides, feature on this essential collection. With all but a few of the tracks making their CD debut, this triple-disc set is a must for all fans of rocksteady, dub, dancehall, and Duke Reid’s inimitable Treasure Isle sound, and are a great companion piece to the original recordings. 



  1. Alton Ellis - If I Could Rule This World 
  2. The Techniques & Ranking Trevor - You Don't Care 
  3. The Paragons & Jah Stone - My Best Girl 
  4. Phyllis Dillon - Get On The Right Track 
  5. Aton Ellis - I Can't Stop Now 
  6. The Techniques & Jah Walton - Queen Majesty 
  7. Joya Landis - Kansas City 
  8. Alton Ellis - Ooo Wee Baby 
  9. Ken Parker - True True True 
  10. The Paragons & Jah Stone - Riding High / G.T. 185 
  11. The Techniques - I’m In The Mood For Love 
  12. John Holt - Ali Baba * 

  1. The Techniques & Ranking Trevor - Love Is Not A  Gamble 
  2. Alton Ellis - I Can't Stand It 
  3. The Sensations - Those Guys 
  4. The Techniques - Travelling Man 
  5. The Jamaicans - Peace And Love 
  6. The Paragons & Jah Stone - Mercy, Mercy, Mercy 
  7. Joya Landis - Moonlight Lover 
  8. Alton Ellis & Ranking Trevor - You Make Me So Very Happy 
  9. The Techniques - It's You I Love 
  10. Phyllis Dillon - Don't Touch Me Tomato 
  11. Nora Dean - Barbwire * 
  12. Alton Ellis & Papa Ritchie - Breaking Up / Phantom In The Jungle 
  13. The Supersonics - Breaking Up Dub 

  1. The Sensations & Jah Stone - Baby Love / Westmoreland Flood 
  2. The Techniques - You Don't Care (2nd Mix) 
  3. Alton Ellis - Chatty Chatty People 
  4. The Paragons - The Same Song 
  5. Ken Parker - I Should Have Know 
  6. Alton Eliis & The Flames - Cry Tough 
  7. The Techniques & Jah Walton - I Wish It Would Rain 
  8. The Melodians - You Have Caught Me 
  9. John Holt - Stealing * 
  10. Alton Ellis - Remember That Sunday 
  11. Carl Bryan & The Supersonics - Red Ash * 
  12. The Jamaicans - Baba Boom Boom 
  13. Jah Thomas & The Supersonics - Musical Best 

 * Previously unreleased 


  • Housed in triple-digipack with wide 20mm spine 





browse collections: 
Reggae collection  
Dub collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend