Cinder by Dirty Three on Touch and Go Records (the album artwork is an abstract painting by Mick Turner in blues, reds and whites, that appears to depict birds in flight; the band name is written in white at the top-left, while the album title is written below it at the bottom-left).

Dirty Three - Cinder


  • £29.99

Cinder is the seventh album by Dirty Three, originally released by Touch and Go Records in October 2005. 

Dirty Three formed in 1993 in Melbourne, Australia and consist of Warren Ellis (violin), Jim White (drums) and Mick Turner (guitar). Their music is improvisational and melodic and equal parts beauty and melancholy. 

Recorded in just ten days at Sing Sing Studios in Melbourne, the songs on Cinder, compared to previous albums, are shorter, and more somewhat more structured. Though still unmistakably Dirty Three, the band add new sounds to their usual minimal set up, including bagpipes, mandolin, bouzouki, and, for the first time, occasional vocals, including the song 'Great Waves,' co-written and performed with Chan Marshall (Cat Power), whom the band have frequently collaborated with, most notably on her 1998 album, Moon Pix


  1. Ever Since 
  2. She Passed Through 
  3. Amy 
  4. Sad Jexy 
  5. Cinders 
  6. Doris 
  7. Flutter 
  8. The Zither Player 
  9. It Happened 
  10. Great Waves 
  11. Dream Evie 
  12. Too Soon, Too Late 
  13. This Night 
  14. Rain On 
  15. Ember 
  16. Michele 
  17. Feral 
  18. Last Dance 
  19. In Fall 


  • US import 
  • Features artwork by Mick Turner 
  • Contains download coupon 




also available: 
Dirty Three - Ocean Songs   2LP 


see also: 
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - Carnage   LP | CD 
Xylouris White - The Sisypheans   LP | CD 
Jim White & Marisa Anderson - The Quickening   LP | CD 
Mess Esque - Mess Esque   LP | CD 
Cat Power - Moon Pix   LP | CD 
Devin Hoff - Voices From The Empty Moor   LP | CD 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend