new breed by DAWN on Local Action Records

DAWN - new breed


  • £14.99

new breed is the sun-drenched, sassy and minimalist avant-electro R&B album from L.A.'s DAWN (aka Dawn Richard), that dates back to her upbringing in New Orleans, taking in the city’s rich traditions and musical heritage.

Years ago, the former Danity Kane and Diddy-Dirty Money member Dawn Richard broke away from the major-label world and started releasing oblique, experimental space-pop records on her own.

A self-produced return to the electronically-focused sonics of her previous solo work, new breed is an authoritative stamp on the genre in her own unique fashion. The album provides the most intimate portrait of DAWN’s life so far, harking back to her years growing up in New Orleans and paying tribute to the city’s culture, sights and sounds. Presenting a duality between the soulful sounds of the city’s more traditional forms of R&B and DAWN’s own innovative brand of electronic sonics, new breed sees DAWN at her most eclectic, drawing on a wide range of influences and, alongside contributions from the likes of Cole M.G.N (Christine & The Queens, Ariel Pink), Kaveh Rastegar (John Legend, Sia) and Hudson Mohawke.

In its cover art and interludes, new breed calls back to Richard’s upbringing in the Washitaw Nation, the black New Orleans tribe that claims Native American sovereignty and upholds its own traditions. There’s plenty of childhood nostalgia on the record, but there’s also a whole lot of forward-looking vision. On the record’s production, Richard draws on spaced-out dance music, rap, R&B, New Orleans bounce, ’70s funk, and right-now pop music... and again and again, she flexes her unique power to combine thoughtful introspection with slinky, insinuating hooks.


  1. the nine (intro)
  2. new breed
  3. spaces
  4. dreams and converse
  5. shades
  6. jealousy
  7. sauce
  8. vultures | wolves
  9. we, diamonds
  10. ketchup and po boys (outro)



also available:
Dawn Richard - Second Line   LP | CD



We Also Recommend