My Ancesters by Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family on Mississippi Records (the album artwork features a black and white photograph of Chrissy Zebby Tembo against a solid scarlet background).

Chrissy Zebby Tembo & Ngozi Family - My Ancestors


  • £23.99

Originally released in 1976, My Ancestors is an essential album from Zambia’s Zamrock scene. Brimming with lo-fi fuzzed-out guitar, the album travels the darker undercurrents of 70's rock and roll. Twenty-seven year old Chrissy “Zebby” Tembo performs drums and vocals, Tommy Mwale plays bass, while Paul Ngozi was responsible for the aggressive lead guitar. It's been argued that this is one of the greatest rock records of all time. 


  1. My Ancestors 
  2. Trouble Maker 
  3. Lonely Night 
  4. Coffin Maker 
  5. Oh Yeh Yeh 
  6. Fisherman 
  7. I’ve Been Losing 
  8. Feeling Good 
  9. Gone Forever 


  • US import 
  • Features original artwork 
  • Housed in Tip-On jacket 




browse collections: 
Zamrock collection 
African collection 
Mississippi Records collection 



We Also Recommend