The Catenary Wires - Birling Gap


  • £20.99

Birling Gap is the third album by The Catenary Wires, aka indie-pop lifers Amelia Fletcher and Rob Pursey, following 2015's debut, Red Red Skies, and 2019's Til The Morning.

Amelia and Rob love pop songs, but pop songs with an edge. With their early bands Talulah Gosh and Heavenly, they were often dismissed by critics of the time as fey or ‘twee’, but this prejudice has since been revised, and these bands are now recognised as an influential part of the movement that became riot grrrl. On their new album as The Catenary Wires, the songs are as strong as ever, full of sweet melody and rich with vocal harmonies. But the tunes are now vehicles for startlingly honest adult concerns: the fractured relationships, anxieties, passions and politics of people who live on an island that’s turning in on itself. The album depicts England, not just in its lyrics, but in its music. The Catenary Wires have listened to the songs and stories England has comforted itself with over the decades, and re-imagined them.

Like the Go-Betweens and XTC before them, The Catenary Wires know that pop music can convey dark, sardonic, complex emotions, just as well as it can celebrate teenage angst. 


  1. Face On The Rail Line
  2. Alpine
  3. Always On My Mind
  4. Mirrorball
  5. Three Wheeled Car
  6. Liminal
  7. Canterbury Lanes
  8. Cinematic
  9. Like The Rain
  10. The Overview Effect


  • LP first pressing on white vinyl and limited to 1000 copies 
  • CD housed in double-gatefold 6-panel card sleeve with 5mm spine 





see also: 
Talulah Gosh - Was It Just A Dream   2LP | CD 
Heavenly - A Bout De Heavenly: The Singles   LP | CD 
Swansea Sound - Indies Of The World / Je Ne Sais Quoi   7" 
European Sun - European Sun   LP 

view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend