What Was Me by Calvin Johnson on K Records

Calvin Johnson - What Was Me


  • £20.99


The first Calvin Johnson solo album, What Was Me, originally released in 2002, remastered and reissued with hot new cover art!

What Was Me collects ten bits of lifeness and spreads them thickly with voice and acoustic guitar; acapella 40% of the time. There are patches that are worn and threadbare but the overall effect is gutty and moist. The affect is also noteworthy. Calvin is joined by the K divas Mirah on “Ode to St. Valentine” and Beth Ditto (the Gossip) on “Lightnin’ Rod for Jesus”.

Calvin is also known for his work with Beat Happening, Dub Narcotic Sound System and Halo Benders. He has performed all over the country and the world, in basements, gymnasiums, theaters, art galleries, nightclubs, city parks, coffee shops, outdoor amphitheaters, hotel lobbies and ice cream stands.


  1. The Past Comes Back to Haunt Me
  2. Can We Kiss?
  3. Love Will Come Back Again
  4. Ode to St. Valentine
  5. Palriga
  6. Nothing to Hold Us Here
  7. Warm Days
  8. Lies Goodbye
  9. Lightnin’ Rod for Jesus
  10. What Was Me


The original CD issue of this album can be found here... (click)

We Also Recommend