Creation of Dub by Bunny Lee on Jamaican Recordings

Bunny Lee - The Creation Of Dub


  • £15.99

Originally released in 1975 on Jamaica's Total Sounds label, and mixed by King Tubby, Bunny Lee's The Creation of Dub is a landmark album in the birth of dub reggae, and a tribute to the creativity, innovation and collaboration of Kingston at the time. 

King Tubby and Producer Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee are intertwined in the birth of dub music. After making a mistake while recording that became a ‘serious joke,’  they went on to release the first pressings of this new musical genre. Tubby’s vast knowledge of electronics and Bunny’s vast catalogue of rhythms would lay the foundations of what today is taken as a standard... the 'remix,' or 'version' cuts to an existing vocal tune. 

Tubby and Striker were at Treasure Isle Studio’s one day while Ruddy from Spanish Town was working with the engineer Byron Smith. As Lee explains it, “Tubby and myself was talking when Ruddy was cutting some dub but Smithy [engineer] made a mistake through we were talking and forgot to put in the voice. It was two track recording in those days. Ruddy said ‘No Man! Make it stay! and so they cut the rhythm. When I went over to Ruddy’s that Saturday night a dance was in progress and when they played the vocal to the tune... then he said we’re going to play ‘Part Two’. They never called it ‘Version’... and then he played the rhythm track. The song was a catchy song and everybody started to sing along and the deejay started to toast so everything went down well. On Monday morning I went up and I said ‘Tubbs the mistake we made was a serious joke. It mash up Spanish Town! The people went wild. So you have to start to do that now ‘cause when the man put on the ‘Part Two’ everyone start singing this song. It played about twenty times. I said you try Tubbs!’... Well the next Saturday night now when Tubby strung up down the farm U Roy said he’s going to play ‘Part Two’ but Tubby did it different now. He started with the voice then dropped it out and let the rhythm run and then he brought in the voice in the middle and from there Tubby started to get really popular." 

When the Dynamic Sounds studio upgraded to sixteen track recording in 1972, Tubby purchased, again with the help of a deal brokered by Bunny Lee, the old four track equipment and the MCI console from their Studio B. The four tracks now gave him far wider scope to work with and he began to create a new musical form where the bass and drum parts were brought up while the faders allowed Tubby to ease the vocal and rhythm in and out of the mix. It was only a matter of time before Tubby’s dub plate experiments began to make it on to vinyl and the first ever long-playing King Tubby releases would feature a collection of his mixes to a selection of Strikers rhythms. 


  1. Creation of Dub (Johnny Clarke - Creation Rebel) 
  2. Swinging Dub (Johnny Clarke - Put It On) 
  3. Ten Thousand Tons of Dub (Johnny Clarke - 10 To One) 
  4. Jamaican Roots Dub (Sheila records - Jamaican Fruits Of African Roots) 
  5. A Pressuring Dub (Cornell Campbell - Press Along Natty) 
  6. An Inspiring Dub (Johnny Clarke - Soul and Inspiration) 
  7. This Boss of Dub (Jackie Edwards - So Jah Say) 
  8. A Good Good Dub (Cornell Campbell - No Good Girl) 
  9. Dub This Sound (Cornell Campbell - Watch This Sound) 
  10. A Hard Hard Dub (Delroy Wilson - Get Ready) 
  11. Rub This Dub (Delroy Wilson - You Must Believe Me) 
  12. Skanking Dub (Linval Thompson - You Have Long Long Dreadlocks) 
  13. Don’t Cut Off Your Dub Locks (Linval Thompson - Don’t Cut Off Your Dreadlocks) 
  14. Give Me Dub (Johnny Clarke - Give Me Love) 
  15. Guiding Angel Dub* (Horace Andy - You Are My Angel)  *
  16. Tree Of Life Dub* (Ronnie Davi - That’s Life)  *
* CD-only bonus tracks 


  • CD includes two bonus tracks 




also available: 
Bunny Lee & The Aggrovators - Run Sound Boy Run   LP | CD 
Various - Bunny Lee's Agro Sounds, 101 Orange Street   LP | CD 


see also: 
King Tubby - The Roots Of Dub   LP | CD 
King Tubby - Dub From The Roots   LP | CD 

King Tubby - Hometown Hi-Fi Dubplate Specials 1975-1979   LP 
Cornell Campbell - Greenwich Farm Sessions   LP 
Augustus Pablo - Rockers At King Tubby’s   LP | CD 


browse collections: 
Reggae collection 
Dub collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend