The Power Of Rocks by Buffet Lunch on Upset The Rhythm Records (the album cover is a photograph of the band, wearing naive masks, stood behind a large rocky outcrop in a field).

Buffet Lunch - The Power Of Rocks


  • £17.99

Buffet Lunch are a Scottish group who make it their mission to craft satisfyingly imperfect pop songs filled with imagery and humour. 
The group’s elementary parts are Perry O’Bray (Vocals/Keys/Guitar), Neil Robinson (Bass), John Muir (Lead Guitar) & Luke Moran (Drums), united by a shared love of music on the ABBA-to-Beefheart axis. These four ricochet between Glasgow and Edinburgh, creating music that bristles with DIY spirit and upbeat wonkiness. Their tracks are vigorous excursions, meandering into clattersome terrain as often as hiking up into the breezy, melodious foothills. The desire to lead the listener along a curious tale helps tie things together, showcasing a lyrical playfulness that pins down their puzzle of sound. 
Having been an active band for a few years, playing regularly with like-minds such as Irma Vep, Robert Sotelo and Kaputt, Buffet Lunch spent early 2020 working on the follow-up to their two EPs on Permanent Slump. The fruits from such labour bore out as the band’s debut album, The Power of Rocks, on Upset The Rhythm. 
Perry also started writing on his Casio keyboard and collaborated on a couple of songs (‘Ten Times’ & ‘Ashley’s New Haircut’) with Jayne Dent (of electronic music project Me Lost Me), drawing on her ethereal singing voice as a counterpoint to his own more ‘spoken’ vocals on the album. 
The Power of Rocks’ rattles along like a short-story collection, exploring a variety of narratives. When it comes to the music itself, Perry describes their approach as "see what happens" but admits to a preference for simple synth melodies, plenty of percussion, and prickly guitar-parts. 
When asked about any intent posed with this debut record Perry confides that "we hope people can hear the joy the band had making the album and the curiosity and frustration that went into the writing. There was no process or design, but there is detail, and deliberateness in our wish to explore and create." 


  1. Red Apple Happiness 
  2. Orange Peel 
  3. Pebbledash 
  4. The Power Of Rocks 
  5. Bladderwrack 
  6. Ten Times 
  7. Looking At Liz Talent’s Chair 
  8. Said Bernie 
  9. Helps To Know (Time Moves) 
  10. He Wore Two Hats 
  11. Ashley’s New Haircut 


  • Limited edition pressed on 180g opaque orange vinyl 





also available: 
Buffet Lunch - Mild Weather / Cheeks   7" 


see also: 
The Web Of Lies - Nude With Demon   LP


browse collections: 
Upset The Rhythm collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend