Broadcast - Tender Buttons


  • $24.00

Tender Buttons is the third studio album by Broadcast. Originally released in 2005, Broadcast swapped the rich textures and multiple layers of previous records for a much rawer and grittier sound, based on dry electronics, bass, processed guitars and singer Trish Keenan's deadpan voice. Stripped down to its bare essentials, the music shows Broadcast under new lights, bringing Keenan's bittersweet and often surrealist lyrics right at the forefront. 
The band were now a duo, following guitarist Tim Felton's departure, and recorded the entire album themselves at Keenan and James Cargill's home in Birmingham, creating a far more intimate record than its predecessor, 2003's Haha Sound. 
On songs such as 'Black Cat', 'Goodbye Girls' or the annoyingly catchy 'Michael A Grammar', Keenan and Cargill work around frail distorted electronics and interferences on which they add guitars, bass and linear drum beats. Elsewhere, on the more subdued 'Tears in the Typing Pool' or 'You and Me in Time', they craft delicate backdrops out of guitars and subtle sine waves, evoking in places a space-age Velvet Underground. 
If Tender Buttons revealed a more purely electronic approach, Broadcast were miles apart from the electro glam of many of their contemporaries, sharing more in common with Delia Derbyshire's Radiophonic Workshop and other British early electronica pop experimentalists. 


  1. I Found The F 
  2. Black Cat 
  3. Tender Buttons 
  4. America's Boy 
  5. Tears In The Typing Pool 
  6. Bit 35 
  7. Subject To The Ladder 
  8. Corporeal 
  9. Arc Of A Journey 
  10. Michael A Grammar 
  11. Minus 3 
  12. Goodbye Girls 
  13. You And Me 
  14. In Time 
  15. I Found The End 


  • LP contains download coupon 
  • CD housed in jewel case with clear tray 



also available: 
Broadcast - Work And Non Work   LP | CD 
Broadcast - The Noise Made By People   LP 

Broadcast - Haha Sound   LP 
Broadcast - The Future Crayon   2LP | CD 
Broadcast & The Focus Group - Investigate Witch Cults Of The Radio Age   LP | CD 
Broadcast - Berberian Sound Studio   CD 
Broadcast - BBC Maida Vale Sessions   2LP | CD 

Broadcast - Mother Is The Milky Way   LP | CD 
Broadcast - Microtronics: Volumes 1 & 2   LP | CD 



We Also Recommend