Body/Head - Coming Apart


  • £16.99

Body/Head are an electric guitar duo comprised of Kim Gordon (Sonic Youth, Free Kitten, etc.) and Bill Nace (Vampire Belt, Ceylon Mange, etc.). 

Formed in 2012, following the break-up of Sonic Youth, initially their approach was almost entirely instrumental - lattices of interwoven feedback rainbows, with bits recalling everyone from Heldon to Keiji Haino. They usually performed against a backdrop of slow-motion film projection, creating a dream narrative of undeniable power and visionary reach. Kim’s voice began creeping into the mix soon after, and the vocals now have become an intrinsic part of their musical architecture. They have even started writing and playing “songs” now, compositionally distinct from their purely aleatory origins, but still featuring lots of built-in improvisational space. 

Released in 2013, Coming Apart is the band's debut album, following a single on Ultra Eczama Editions, a tour EP for Nace’s own Open Mouth Productions, and a collaboration with the Dead C's Michael Morley (Body/Gate/Head) on Feeding Tube Records. The album is slow moving, completely absorbing, and untethered to the restrictions of song-structure, or typical band dynamics, or to gravity,. Experimental music rarely maintains the emotion contained on this record, or a tension so palpable and visceral. 


  1. Abstract 
  2. Murderess 
  3. Last Mistress 
  4. Actress 
  5. Untitled 
  6. Everything Left 
  7. Can't Help You 
  8. Aint 
  9. Black 
  10. Frontal 


  •  Double-LP housed in gatefold jacket and contains download coupon 



also available: 
Body/Head - No Waves   LP | CD 
Body/Head - The Switch   LP | CD 
Body/Dilloway/Head - Body/Dilloway/Head   LP 


see also: 
Bill Nace - Both   LP 
Kim Gordon, Ikue Mori & DJ Olive - Kim Gordon, Ikue Mori & DJ Olive   2LP | CD 
Kim Gordon - No Home Record   LP | CD 


browse collections: 
Sonic Youth collection 
Experimental & Avant-Garde collection 



We Also Recommend