Once Upon A Time: The Lost 1965 New York Studio Sessions by Bob James on Resonance Records

Bob James - Once Upon A Time: the Lost 1965 New York Studio Sessions


  • £20.99

Will be in stock after

Previously-unissued release of studio recordings from pianist Bob James captured with no audience at Wollman Auditorium in New York City in 1965 by Resonance founder and co-president George Klabin.

The album features James in two different trio settings - one from January 20, 1965 with bassist Larry Rockwell and drummer Bob Pozar, and one from October 9, 1965 with bassist Bill Wood and drummer Omar Clay. These recordings find James at a crossroads in his career, and marries the more straight-forward cool jazz standards with a thirst for experimentation, free improvisation, and even early electronic effects.

The title track 'Once Upon A Time' was named by James as an homage to the ONCE Festival of New Music in Ann Arbor, MI which ran from 1961-1966 and holds a special place in his early musical career.

The deluxe gatefold set includes an extensive booklet with essays by jazz writer Mark Stryker (Jazz from Detroit) and engineer George Klabin; a new interview with Bob James by Zev Feldman, and 2011 interview with Bob Pozar by Hank Shteamer (Rolling Stone); plus rare archival photographs. .


  1. Serenata
  2. Once Upon A Time
  3. Lateef Minor 7th
  4. Variations
  5. Airegin
  6. Indian Summer
  7. Solar
  8. Blues In F


Pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI; Mastered by Bernie Grundman; limited to 1000 copies in the UK (5000 copies worldwide); released for Record Store Day 2020


We Also Recommend