Blonde Redhead - Penny Sparkle


  • £16.99

2010 saw the release of Blonde Redhead's eighth studio album, Penny Sparkle, another sonic twist in their adventurous canon. An ardently tender record in keeping with the band’s best work, the album title itself a clue to their emotional headspace. Penny Sparkle, a name taken from a horse kept at the stables where Kazu had her riding accident in 2002, is where the past meets the present in unsteady elan.

“No wave is a distant memory on Penny Sparkle, whose gothic gloss bears the fingerprints of producers Alan Moulder (Depeche Mode) and Van Rivers & The Subliminal Kid (Fever Ray). Twin brothers Amadeo and Simone Pace and Kazu Makino have accordingly served up an album of Swedish pop but without any of its saccharine flourishes. The gloom of ‘Will There Be Stars’ sounds like Yeasayer would if someone mercifully stamped on their panpipes, while ‘Everything Is Wrong’ sees vocals from Kazu Makino open up into shimmering pop. Deft production lends this album space and stateliness at a time when everyone seems content to scuff their feet along to lo-fi, and begs the question, why? Though lacking standout tracks, this is an icy masterclass in how synths should sound” - NME


  1. Here Sometimes
  2. Not Getting There
  3. Will There Be Stars
  4. My Plants Are Dead
  5. Love Or Prison
  6. Oslo
  7. Penny Sparkle
  8. Everything Is Wrong
  9. Black Guitar
  10. Spain



We Also Recommend