Twentieth anniversary edition of Melody Of Certain Damaged Lemons by Blonde Redhead on Touch And Go Records

Blonde Redhead - Melody Of Certain Damaged Lemons (20th Anniversary Edition)


  • $35.00

Will be in stock after

Originally released 20 years ago on June 6, 2000, Blonde Redhead's third album on Touch and Go Records was recorded in Washington State with Ryan Hadlock and Guy Picciotto (Fugazi, Rites Of Spring). With Guy twisting the knobs and helping to shape the sound of the record, Simone, Kazu, and Amedeo found themselves in an ideal environment to create a distinctive record.

From the first notes of "Equally Damaged", you are drawn in - starting with a simple, twisted melody, augmented bit by bit with rhythms and the remarkably distinctive vocals and lyrics which are the centre of these songs. Moved dramatically to the front of the mix, the vocals on this record are rich and melodic, sometimes recorded with three mics at once to get the depth of the sound - a brooding, tense and intimate sound, like secret conversations made public.

These songs are reminiscent of the twisted sentimentality of Serge Gainsbourg. Using basic instruments, melodies, and rhythms, the recording, the instrumentation, and the general presentation of each song create intricately layered, provocative, and genuinely emotional songs that continue to play themselves in your head for days.

“The beauty of Blonde Redhead’s music fries my brain. They are my only friend.” – Guy Picciotto 


  1. Equally Damage
  2. In Particular
  3. Melody of Certain Three
  4. Hated Because of Great Qualities
  5. Loved Despite of Great Faults
  6. Ballad of Lemons
  7. This Is Not
  8. A Cure
  9. For the Damaged
  10. Mother
  11. For the Damaged Coda


Pressed on 180g opaque pink vinyl; gatefold LP jacket with new cover art and unreleased photos from the original recording session; limited to 2000 copies


We Also Recommend