The Birthday Party - Junkyard


  • £20.99

Originally released in 1982, Junkyard was The Birthday Party's second studio album. 

Reissued on 180gm vinyl with a bonus 7” of the single 'Release The Bats' and 'Blast Off', plus a CD of all 12 tracks. The album has been mastered from the Henry Rollins 2000 re-master, previously unavailable in Europe, while the single is a new (2012) master, taken from the original studio analogue tapes. 

"Now, you can't talk about this band without mentioning the singer. Nick Cave needs no introduction, but it must be stated that this is one of his most memorable and brutal performances in his whole career. He's always written lyrics with imagery and violence and this record is not different. He squawks, shrieks, screams and hollers tales of death and despair. Cave sounds like a man possessed on this record. He ended up getting much more accessible and graceful later in his career but back in the early 80's he was a madman with a huge and very raw vocal range. 

Cave lends his ultra unique vocals over an extremely unique band and the result is an unforgettable experience. No one else could sing a song like "Dead Joe" and get away with it. The guy is perfect for music this unsettling, and when the title track begins and you hear Cave's trembling voice cry "I am the king" it's hard not to believe him." widowslaugh123, 


  1. She's Hit 
  2. Dead Joe 
  3. The Dim Locator 
  4. Hamlet (Pow, Pow, Pow) 
  5. Several Sins 
  6. Big-Jesus-Trash-Can 
  7. Kiss Me Black 
  8. 6" Gold Blade 
  9. Kewpie Doll 
  10. Junkyard 



also available:
The Birthday Party - Live 81-82   2LP+CD 


see also: 
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - Carnage   LP | CD 


browse collections: 
New Wave collection



We Also Recommend