Bill Wells - The Viaduct Tuba Trio Plays The Music Of Bill Wells


  • £13.99


The latest chapter in the unfolding musical story of Bill Wells finds the Scottish jazz outsider’s compositions played by a trio of tuba players with energetic contributions from young brass players from his adopted hometown of Glasgow.

The results, The Viaduct Tuba Trio Plays The Music Of Bill Wells, are alternately ruminative, playful and profound, Throughout the variety of moods conjured by the musicians, the listener is reminded of both the power and tenderness of brass instruments – their capacity to astound and reassure, to soothe and tickle.

The trio in the title – Antony Hook, Danielle Price and Mark Reynolds – formed in 2018 to perform in the lee of the Glenfinnan Viaduct as part of the Loch Shiel Festival. Wells contributed three tunes for the performance, including 'Fanfare For Three Tubas', and composed the remainder after being commissioned by Glasgow’s underground/experimental festival Counterflows as a direct result of the Glenfinnan Viaduct performance. The trio subsequently performed Wells’ tunes in Glasgow with the Gorbals Youth Brass Band, who play on three of the album’s 10 tracks, sharing a bill with a duo featuring Chicago composer, flautist and educator Nicole Mitchell and London-based percussionist Mark Sanders.

The Viaduct Tuba Trio Plays The Music Of Bill Wells represents another creative achievement for the prolific composer and multi-instrumentalist, who has collaborated with artists including Yo La Tengo, Amy Allison, Aidan Moffat, Jad Fair, Maher Halal Hash Baz and Stefan Schneider of To Rococo Rot among others.

Recorded in Glasgow and mastered by Norman Blake of Teenage Fanclub. The cover art is by longtime collaborator Annabel Wright (The Pastels)


  1. Fanfare For Three Tubas
  2. Stud In The Muck
  3. No More Cons
  4. The Midges
  5. Unhealthy Exercise
  6. Three Layers
  7. Hydra Mini/Jalopy
  8. Chorale 4K
  9. Slow Worm
  10. Stone Throw Dream Anthem

We Also Recommend