Asha Puthli's self-titled debut album on Mr Bongo Records

Asha Puthli - Asha Puthli


  • £19.99

Will be in stock after

Asha Puthli's debut self-titled album is a wonderful fusion of jazz, soul, blues, and disco. It includes an outstanding cover version of J.J. Cale's 'Right Down Here'; a track which Asha made very much her own by flipping it into a deep-funk groove with sultry ethereal vocals and a drumbeat almost ready-made for samplers of the future.

The record was produced in the UK by Del Newman, who had worked with Carly Simon, Cat Stevens, and Elton John to name a few. It was released on London CBS records in 1973. Shortly after the release of the record, Asha (who was born in Mumbai), was banned by the Home Office from working in the UK for a period of time due to visa issues. These obstacles along with problems with her recording contract did not hold her back. Asha moved on and continued her musical journey elsewhere.


  1. Right Down Here
  2. Neither One Of Us Wants To Be The First To Say Goodbye
  3. I Dig Love
  4. This Is Your Life
  5. Love
  6. Lies
  7. Let Me In Your Life
  8. I Am Song (Sing Me)
  9. Truth


Pressed on sky-blue vinyl; limited to 500 copies in the UK (2000 copies worldwide); released on Record Store Day 2020