Arthur Russell - World Of Echo


  • £10.99

Out of print for over fifteen years, Arthur Russell’s most extraordinary work, World Of Echo was reissued for the first time in 2005, following the acclaimed collection of unreleased material, Calling Out Of Context, released a year earlier, which sparked a renewed interest in the late artist's much-overlooked work. 

Originally released in 1986, World Of Echo is a deeply intimate and meditative work of awe-inspiring grace and remains a timeless work of sublime beauty. Arthur’s aim was to achieve what he calls “the most vivid rhythmic reality”, with just cello, voice, and echoes. Arthur achieved all of this and more on one of the most amazing albums you will ever hear.

Newly remastered from Arthur’s pristine original 1/4″ sequenced masters, World Of Echo sounds like nothing you have heard before, or will ever hear again. Eighteen tracks are featured, including drumless versions of his Disco classics 'Let’s Go Swimming', 'Tree House' and 'Wax The Van,' along with four previously unreleased tracks from Sketches From World Of Echo.

“In outer space you can’t take your drums - you take your mind” - Arthur Russell 1987


  1. Tone Bone Kone
  2. Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun/Let's See
  3. Answers Me
  4. Being It
  5. Place I Know/Kid Like You
  6. She's The Star/I Take This Time
  7. Treehouse
  8. See-Through
  9. Hiding Your Present From You
  10. Wax The Van
  11. All-Boy All-Girl
  12. Lucky Cloud
  13. Tower Of Meaning/Rabbit's Ear/Home Away From Home
  14. Let's Go Swimming
  15. The Name Of The Next Song
  16. Happy Ending
  17. Canvas Home
  18. Our Last Night Together 




Also available:
Arthur Russell - Another Thought   2LP
Arthur Russell - Calling Out Of Context   2LP | CD
Arthur Russell - Love Is Overtaking Me   2CD

See also:
Dinosaur L - Go Bang!   7"
Dinosaur L - In The Corn Belt   7"
Indian Ocean - School Bell/Treehouse   12"

Books about Arthur Russell:
Tim Lawrence - Hold On to Your Dreams: Arthur Russell and the Downtown Music Scene 1973-1992   paperback


We Also Recommend