Chamber Music: Alvin Lucier & Morton Feldman by Anthony Burr & Charles Curtis on Important Records (IMPREC468)

Anthony Burr & Charles Curtis - Chamber Music: Alvin Lucier & Morton Feldman


  • £13.99

Anthony Burr and Charles Curtis present this collection of curated compositions from Alvin Lucier and Morton Feldman. Two Lucier pieces, August Moon and Trio For Clarinet, Cello & Tuba are presented here for the first time. Liner notes are excerpted from a lecture on Morton Feldman given by Alvin Lucier. 

“For Feldman, dynamics serve an acoustical function. When he mitigates a piano attack he reduces that spike of noise that’s at the onset of every piano sound leaving only the sinusoidal pure after-sound. It’s as if he invented electronic music with the piano.” Alvin Lucier from liner notes. 

“Lucier manages to hear a layer of acoustical physics in Feldman’s music that perhaps no one else would hear. He’s hearing
 something in Feldman that is actually coming from his own musical world; in a way, hearing his own music in Feldman’s, and drawing inspiration from that.” 


  1. August Moon (Alvin Lucier, 2015)
  2. Two Instruments (Morton Feldman, 1958)
  3. Trio For Clarinet, Cello & Tuba (Alvin Lucier, 2008)
  4. Three Clarinets, Cello And Piano (Morton Feldman, 1971)
  5. Step, Slide And Sustain (Alvin Lucier, 2014)
  6. Durations 2 (Morton Feldman, 1960)


US import




browse collections:
Experimental music collection


We Also Recommend