Green Is Blues by Al Green on Fat Possum Records

Al Green - Green Is Blues


  • £24.99

Will be in stock after

Originally released in 1969, Green Is Blues was Al Green's second album, and his first record for Hi Records. To celebrate its 50th anniversary, Fat Possum Records present a beautiful reissue of this classic soul LP. 

Significant for matching for the first time Green's soulful refined vocal brilliance with the skilful production of co-writer/producer Willie Mitchell and the tight arrangements of Memphis' renowned Hi Rhythm Section, the album ushered in a new era for "The Memphis Sound" – effectively kick-starting a studio partnership between Green and Mitchell that would see Al go on to become the premier soul superstar of the early Seventies.

  1. One Woman
  2. Talk To Me
  3. My Girl
  4. The Letter
  5. I Stand Accused
  6. Gotta Find A New World
  7. What Am I Gonna Do With Myself
  8. Tomorrow's Dream
  9. Get Back Baby
  10. Get Back
  11. Summertime


Pressed on 180g split green & blue vinyl; tip-on jacket; includes insert with liner notes; limited to 500 copies in the UK (3000 copies worldwide); released on Record Store Day 2020


We Also Recommend