James Elkington - Ever-Roving Eye

James Elkington - Ever-Roving Eye


  • £19.99


Chicago songwriter and guitarist James Elkington - who is known for his collaborations with artists such as Tortoise, Laetitia Sadier, Michael Chapman, Richard Thompson and Joan Shelley - recorded his sophomore album at Wilco’s Loft, expanding upon his celebrated 2017 debut Wintres Woma.

Casting glances back to British folk traditions as well as toward avant-garde horizons, these brilliant new songs, as accessible as they are arcane, buttress Elkington’s brisk guitar figures and baritone poesy with strings, woodwinds, and backing vocals by Tamara Lindeman of the Weather Station.

Where the first record was more firmly situated in the sonic tradition of 1970s folk revivalists, Eye engages in a broader wrassle, roping in echoes of British library musics, horror-film soundtracks, demure psychedelia, and more rocking elements of folk-rock. The result is a record even more elaborate, shrewd, thoughtful and confessional.



  1. Nowhere Time
  2. Sleeping Me Awake
  3. Leopards Lay Down
  4. Moon Tempering
  5. Rendlesham Way
  6. Late Jim's Lament
  7. Carousel
  8. Go Easy on October
  9. Ever-Roving Eye
  10. Much Master


LP pressed on 140g green glass colour vinyl; limited to 750 copies; heavy-duty board sleeve; includes download card

We Also Recommend