Jad & David Fair - Monster Songs For Children


  • £22.99

In the mid-1970s, David Fair and Jad Fair unleashed Half Japanese as a blistering, art-damaged, pre-punk group from Uniontown, Maryland, recording several acclaimed indie albums. David left in the '80s to pursue visual arts while Jad maintains Half Japanese to this day. 
In 1995, the brothers teamed up again, as Jad & David Fair, releasing a 7" EP and album (Best Friends) on Vesuvius Records, followed in 1998 by Monster Songs for Children (Sing Your Little Babies to Sleep) on Kill Rock Stars. David found monsters to cover each letter of the alphabet and drafted his five-year-old son Robinson to do the song intros (and lead vocals on the fantastic 'Frankenstein'). Each short tune is slinky and spooky, with eerie vocals covering creatures from mythology to horror films, including Bigfoot, Godzilla, Jabberwocky... even E.T.! 
Monster Song for Children
, and the follow-up 2008 album, Halloween Songs, have now been pressed on vinyl for the very first time, as part of Kill Rock Stars' 2021 celebrations marking the ground-breaking label's thirtieth anniversary.



  1. Abominable Snowman 
  2. Bigfoot 
  3. Creature 
  4. Dracula 
  5. E.T. 
  6. Frankenstein 
  7. Godzilla 
  8. Headless Horseman 
  9. Invisible Man 
  10. Jabberwocky 
  11. King Kong 
  12. Loch Ness Monster 
  13. Mummy 
  14. Nosferatu 
  15. Ogre 
  16. Phantom 
  17. Queen Kong 
  18. Rodan 
  19. Sasquatch 
  20. Troll 
  21. Urchin 
  22. Vampire 
  23. Werewolf 
  24. The Man With The X-Ray Eyes 
  25. Yeti 
  26. Zombie 


  • US import 
  • Limited edition pressing on lime-green with black-swirl colour vinyl 
  • Features new artwork by David Fair 




also available: 
Jad & David Fair - Halloween Songs   LP 


see also: 
Half Japanese - Half Gentlemen/Not Beasts   2LP | 3CD 
Half Japanese - Charmed Life   LP 
Half Japanese - Volume 4: 1997-2001   3LP 

Half Japanese - Why Not?   LP | CD 
Half Japanese - Invincible   LP | CD 
Half Japanese - Crazy Hearts   LP | CD 
Jad Fair & Daniel Johnston - It's Spooky   2LP+flexi 
Jad Fair & Kramer - The History of Crying (Revisited)   LP 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend