Devin Hoff - Voices From The Empty Moor (Songs Of Anne Briggs)


  • £22.99

Bassist, composer and arranger Devin Hoff has been intensively studying the music of Anne Briggs for over a decade. Briggs was a leading light of the 1960"s English folk scene, a gifted songwriter and improviser, as well as an amateur musicologist who revived traditional English, Scottish, and Irish Traveller songs with an unpretentious approach that perhaps presaged the rebellion of punk as much as it honoured tradition. 
Voices From the Empty Moor
seeks to honour the mystery and beauty of Anne Briggs' music while maintaining its own unique perspective, foregrounding powerful emotion and, hopefully, magical transformation.
The arrangements here include collaborations with musician friends that share a fascination with mining specific folk forms for universal and timeless truths; singers Julia Holter, Shannon Lay, Sharon Van Etten and Emmett Kelly; oud player Alejandro Farha; saxophonist Howard Wiley and drummer Jim White


  1. She Moved Through The Fair 
  2. Go Your Way (Feat. Sharon Van Etten) 
  3. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme (Feat. Julia Holter) 
  4. Maa Bonny Lad 
  5. Living By The Water (Feat. Shannon Lay) 
  6. The Snow It Melts The Soonest 
  7. My Bonny Boy 
  8. Black Waterside (Feat. Emmett Kelly) 
  9. Willie O’ Winsbury 
  10. The Lowlands 


  • US import 
  • Sea foam coloured vinyl LP available exclusively from independent stores 
  • CD housed in gatefold card jacket with reinforced 7mm spine 





see also: 
Anne Briggs - Anne Briggs   LP | CD 
Anne Briggs - The Time Has Come   LP 
Jim White & Marisa Anderson - The Quickening   LP | CD 
Xylouris White - The Sisypheans   LP | CD 
Dirty Three - Ocean Songs   2LP 
Dirty Three - Cinder   2LP 


browse collections: 
Kill Rock Stars collection 

Traditional/folk music collection 
Unclassical & Modern Composition collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend