Big Joanie – Sistahs


  • £19.99

Big Joanie are Stephanie Phillips (singer/guitarist), Estella Adeyeri (bass) and Chardine Taylor-Stone (drums). The band formed in 2013 and released their first EP Sistah Punk in 2014 and the single Crooked Room in 2016. As part of London’s thriving DIY punk scene Big Joanie have played with locals Shopping; toured with US punks Downtown Boys, and Dutch punk band The Ex; and performed at the first UK Afropunk festival. Inspired by The Ronettes, Nirvana, Breeders and Jesus and Mary Chain, Big Joanie have described themselves as being “similar to The Ronettes filtered through ’80s DIY and Riot Grrrl with a sprinkling of dashikis.”

Big Joanie recorded Sistahs over several sessions from November 2017 to January 2018 at Hermitage Works Studio with producer Margo Broom. The album title derives from the band’s belief in sisterhood and female friendship. One of the main reasons for coming together was to create an atmosphere to be “completely ourselves as black women and discover what was possible to realise in those spaces.” The album cover features Steph’s mum Joan, whom the band is named after, and her aunt on holiday in Wales. Sistahs is an optimistic album about friendship, melancholic memories, and the belief in a modern future.

Outside of the band all three members are involved in communitarian activities whether running the festival for punks of colour Decolonise Fest, volunteering at Girls Rock Camp, or leading the Stop Rainbow Racism campaign which works to stop racist performances in LGBT venues.


  1. New Year
  2. Fall Asleep
  3. Used To Be Friends
  4. Eyes
  5. Way Out
  6. Down Down
  7. Tell A Lie
  8. Token
  9. It's You
  10. How Could You Love Me
  11. Cut Your Hair



The Daydream Library Series of records and tapes is the independent house label of Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth) and Eva Prinz’s publishing imprint Ecstatic Peace Library. The Daydream Series was established in 2018 to provide a label for emerging musicians, both local and international. In this series curated by Eva Prinz, Thurston Moore & Abby Banks a limited edition number of vinyl or cassette albums will be released in a pristine “collector’s edition” package with the highest quality recordings, impeccable design and will include handmade fanzines with the album’s liner notes, interviews with the bands. The first year of releases will offer genre-crossing music including opera, classical, punk rock and sound-healing. Each album in THE DAYDREAM LIBRARY SERIES will include a limited edition fanzine edited by Eva and Thurston with the musicians. Big Joanie's Sistahs LP is the very first record in the Daydream Library series.

Also available:
Big Joanie / Charmpit - Kluster Rooms Sessions   7"

We Also Recommend