Nina Simone - The Montreux Years


  • £26.99

Will not ship until




Nina Simone’s story from the late sixties to the nineties can be told through her legendary performances in Montreux. Taking to the Montreux stage for the first time on 16 June 1968 for the festival’s second edition, Simone built a lasting relationship with Montreux Jazz Festival and its creator and founder Claude Nobs, the uniqueness, trust and electricity of which can be clearly felt on the recordings. Simone’s multi-faceted and radical story is laid bare on The Montreux Years, from her glorious and emotional 1968 performance to her fiery and unpredictable concert in 1976, one of the most remarkable performances the festival ever witnessed; the collection includes recordings from all of her five legendary Montreux concerts - 1968, 1976, 1981, 1987 and 1990. 

Featuring rare and previously unreleased material from Claude Nobs’ private collection, including the powerful 'I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free', the poignant and fearless 'Four Women' and Simone’s hauntingly beautiful performance of 'Ne Me Quitte Pas.' A spine-tingling version of Janis Ian’s searing and potent 'Stars,' which Simone covered for the very first time during her 1976 Montreux performance, sits alongside her bold and electrifying re-imagine of Bob Marley’s ballad 'No Women No Cry' in 1990. The collection closes with the encore of Nina Simone’s final Montreux Jazz Festival concert and one of Simone’s most-loved and best-known recordings, the exuberant 'My Baby Just Cares For Me.' 

The CD edition also includes Simone’s 1968 landmark concert in full - the first time the full concert has been made available on CD. 

Nina Simone: The Montreux Years is released as part of a brand new Montreux Jazz Festival series The Montreux Years. The collections will uncover legendary performances by the world’s most iconic artists alongside rare and never-before-released recordings from the festival’s rich 55-year history, remastered in superlative audio. Each collection will be accompanied by exclusive liner notes and previously unseen photography. 


  1. Someone To Watch Over Me [1987] 
  2. Backlash Blues [1976] 
  3. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free [1976] 
  4. See-Line Woman [1990] 
  5. Little Girl Blue (Pt 1 and 2) [1976] 
  6. Don't Smoke In Bed [1990] 
  7. Stars [1976] 
  8. What A Little Moonlight Can Do [1990] 
  9. African Mailman [1976] 
  10. Just In Time [1968] 
  11. Four Women [1990] 
  12. No Woman No Cry [1990] 
  13. Liberian Calypso [1990] 
  14. Ne Me Quitte Pas [1990] 
  15. Montreux Blues [1981] 
  16. My Baby Just Cares For Me [1990] 
  1. Intro 
  2. Go To Hell 
  3. Just In Time 
  4. When I Was A Young Girl 
  5. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood 
  6. Ne Me Quitte Pas 
  7. To Love Somebody 
  8. Backlash Blues 
  9. The House Of The Rising Sun 
  10. See Line Woman 
  11. Please Read Me 
  12. Ain't Got No, I Got Life 
  13. Gin House Blues 
  14. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free 


  • Turquoise/yellow-splatter white vinyl limited to 1500 copies in the UK 
  • Double-LP pressed on 180g vinyl and housed in gatefold jacket with 13mm spine 
  • Double-CD housed in hardback book-binding with 10mm spine 
  • Features exclusive liner notes and previously unseen photography 





also in this series: 
Etta James - The Montreux Years   2LP | 2CD 


browse collections: 
Nina Simone collection 


view all new releases... 

view all pre-releases... 



We Also Recommend