Milk Box box-set by The Milkshakes on Damaged Goods Records

The Milkshakes - Milk Box


  • £20.99

Will not ship until month_day_year



Milk Box is a four-CD box-set featuring four classic albums by The Milkshakes: Talking 'Bout... Milkshakes, After School Session, Thee Knights Of Trashe, and The Milkshakes' Revenge!
When the punk rock group The Pop Rivets broke up in 1980, Billy Childish joined forces with Mickey Hampshire, a Pop Rivets roadie who had been performing in a group called Mickey and the Milkshakes with his cohort Banana Bertie. The two began writing songs together and the group released their first LP, Talking ’bout Milkshakes! in 1981.
With Childish and Hampshire sharing guitar and vocal duties, Bruce Brand on drums, and Bertie on bass (later replaced by Russ Wilkins then John Agnew), the Milkshakes’ sound was a primitive blend of British beat groups, like the early Kinks at their toughest, and hard-rocking American guitar instrumentalists like Link Wray. This sound came to be known as the “Medway sound” and the core members have been playing a variation on it throughout their whole careers. The Milkshakes were a very prolific group, recording nine records in their four years together, and the band was very much a blend of Childish’s primitive songwriting and Hampshire’s more melodic leanings. 
When Mickey left The Milkshakes in 1984 Childish, Brand and Agnew went on to form Thee Mighty Caesars. Mickey and Bruce now play in The Masonics along with Ludella Black from The Delmonas, and Russ lives in Scotland and fronts the Wildebeests as well as being Lord Rochester. 



Talking 'Bout... Milkshakes!: 

  1. She'll Be Mine 
  2. Pretty Baby 
  3. For She 
  4. I Want'cha For My Little Girl 
  5. Ruhrgebeat 
  6. After Midnight 
  7. Bull's Nose 
  8. Shed Country 
  9. Don't Love Another 
  10. Tell Me Where's That Girl 
  11. Can'tcha See 
  12. Love You Through the Whole Night 
  13. Nothing You Can Say or Do 
  14. I Say You Lie 

After School Special: 

  1. Shimmy Shake 
  2. I Can Tell 
  3. Tell Me Child 
  4. Goodbye Girl 
  5. More Honey 
  6. Soldiers of Love 
  7. El Salvador 
  8. Let's Stomp 
  9. Hide and Scatter 
  10. Jaguar 
  11. That Girl of Mine 
  12. You Can Only Lose 
  13. Little Minnie 
  14. Cadillac 

Thee Knights of Trashe: 

  1. I'll Use Evil 
  2. What You've Got 
  3. Girl, It No Good 
  4. I'm Out of Control 
  5. I Dreamt Last Night (That I Lay Dead) 
  6. Bill's Beat (Instrumental) 
  7. Old Time Shimmy 
  8. Can't Seem to Love That Girl 
  9. Club M.I.C. (Instrumental) 
  10. Despite the Danger 
  11. You're Asking Too Much 
  12. Cassandra 
  13. Green Hornet 

The Milkshakes' Revenge!:

  1. Let Me Love You 
  2. I Want You 
  3. If I Saw You 
  4. Graveyard Words 
  5. Boys 
  6. Little Girl Be Good 
  7. Pipeline 
  8. She Tells Me She Loves Me 
  9. Little Girl (Mumble The Peg) 
  10. Every Girl I Meet 
  11. The One I Get 
  12. Baby What's Wrong 


  • 4CD set housed in clamshell box 





browse collections: 
The Medway Delta collection 


view all new releases... 

view all pre-releases... 



We Also Recommend