Cindy - 1:2


  • £22.99

Will not ship until month_day_year



Cindy is a band built around the singing and guitar playing of Karina Gill. She became a musician only recently, having sat on the sidelines while ex-partners and friends made their stabs at it. Gill describes a chance encounter with an abandoned Squire Strat left in the basement by a previous tenant, “mummified in electrical tape with the remnants of a burrito on the head stock”, that led her to begin carefully strumming her way through simple chords and making her own songs. After one interesting self-released LP, still finding their footing, the band made the masterful and buzzed-about Free Advice, which went from a limited cassette on local San Francisco label Paisley Shirt to vinyl pressings on Tough Love (UK) and Mt.St.Mtn. (USA) in March 2021, followed soon after by the self-titled album by Flowertown, her brilliant lo-fi side project with Michael Ramos of the band Tony Jay. 

Cindy’s third LP arrives in quick succession, the quietly devastating 1:2. Jesse Jackson on bass, Simon Phillips on drums and Aaron Diko on keyboards weave the perfectly thin web behind Gill’s slow Velvety strums and murmured melodies. The rhythm section brings the crude flow, while the keys add subtle and surreal counterpoint to the withering world Gill depicts in her lyrics. “Songs tie together seemingly disparate things by the logic of mood,” Gill tries to explain. This isn’t dream-pop sunshine bliss; half-closed black drapes hang on the window where the narrator stares into the middle distance. “Sometimes you say you’re feeling small/ You plan all day for your own funeral”, she intones in 'Party Store.' Gill has a way of halting her phrasing that makes it feel like her thoughts are gently tumbling into the abyss. It’s this unsettling quality mixed with the hazy atmosphere that makes Cindy’s new LP 100% addictive and the perfect antidote to comfort listening. 


  1. The Common Era 
  2. My Friend 
  3. Party Store 
  4. Song 36 
  5. Lost Dog 
  6. To Be True 
  7. They Say What I Mean 
  8. 1:2 
  9. Sincere Sound 
  10. Deer in Japan 


  • First pressing on blue vinyl, limited to 500 copies 




also available: 
Cindy - Free Advice   LP 


see also: 
Flowertown - Flowertown   LP 


view all new releases... 

view all pre-releases... 



We Also Recommend