Margo Guryan - 29 Demos


  • £36.99

As a successful songwriter, Margo Guryan's compositions have been recorded by the likes of Jackie DeShannon, Spanky & Our Gang, Astrid Gilberto, Claudine Longet, Oliver, Cass Elliot, Glen Campbell, Saint Etienne and Harry Belafonte. Her only solo album, the magnificent Take A Picture (featuring the hit 'Sunday Morning"), has become a cult classic since its release in 1968, and is a combination of gleefully funky sunshine arrangements and Margo's delicious melodies and honeyed voice. 

Having influenced everyone from the Wondermints to Belle and Sebastian to Oscar- winning screenwriter Diablo Cody (who listened to Take A Picture while writing Juno),  in 2001, Guryan released 25 Demos, a collection of fully fleshed-out demos from her personal collection. While most musician's demos are mere sketches, Margo's are little baroque masterpieces, featuring string arrangements, circus organ, chamber-pop rhythm sections and tons of glorious echo. 

In 2016, Modern Harmonic released an expanded version of the collection, 29 Demos, on vinyl for the first time, lovingly presented in a gorgeous gatefold jacket loaded with liner notes, lyrics, and comments from Margo herself. 


  1. What Can I Give You 
  2. Something's Wrong With The Morning 
  3. I Love 
  4. Sunday Morning 
  5. Can You Tell 
  6. Think Of Rain 
  7. Sun 
  8. Most Of My Life 
  9. The 8:17 Northbound Success Merry-Go-Round 
  10. Love Songs 
  11. Thoughts 
  12. I Don't Intend To Spend Christmas Without You 
  13. Come To Me Slowly 
  14. Timothy Gone 
  15. It's Alright Now 
  16. Why Do I Cry 
  17. Under My Umbrella 
  18. Values 
  19. I Think A Lot About You 
  20. The Hum 
  21. Please Believe Me 
  22. I'd Like To See The Bad Guys Win 
  23. Yes I Am 
  24. California Shake 
  25. Shine 
  26. Hold Me Dancin' 
  27. Good-Bye, July 
  28. Someone I Know (Chip Taylor demo) 
  29. Think Of Rain (Malcolm McNeill demo) 


  • US import 
  • Double-LP pressed on gold vinyl at Thirdman Pressing 
  • Remastered in Nashville by Bob Irwin 
  • Housed in deluxe gatefold jacket with reinforced 7mm spine 
  • Includes liner notes and lyrics 




browse collections: 
Sixties collection  


browse all new releases... 



We Also Recommend