Wipers - Youth Of America


  • £24.99

The follow-up to the band's 1980 debut, Is This Real?, Youth Of America, released the following year, obliterated any conception that the Wipers a mere straight-forward punk band. It is a sophisticated, overwhelming response to the evil times marked by the turn of the decade, and is one of the most passionate and influential punk records ever.  
Broken up into six long songs, Youth of America is a much colder, harrowing experience than the teen angst of their debut. Vocally, Greg Sage comes off as sleep-deprived and forsaken, snarling not only at his own predicament but at the predicament of the entire world. The centrepiece of the album is the title track, ten minutes of paranoia and angst that gave Sage the space to showcase his wildest, darkest playing yet. As bassist Brad Davidson and drummer Brad Naish hold the same hypnotic rhythm for the entire song, the guitar careens and swoops with such a frantic energy it seems as though it's the only thing keeping Sage alive in the maelstrom of sound. 
Jackpot Records have kept to the high standards set by their previous reissues, and Youth of America is pressed on high-quality vinyl at RTI and packaged in a sturdy, old-fashioned tip-on sleeve. The tracks have been mastered from original tapes by Greg Sage himself, and the cover is identical to the original sleeve as issued in 1981. 



  1. Taking Too Long 
  2. Can This Be 
  3. Pushing The Extreme 
  4. When It's Over 
  5. No Fair 
  6. Youth Of America  


  • US import 
  • Remastered from the original master tapes by Greg Sage 
  • Available on cassette for the first time 
  • Features the original artwork 




also available: 
Wipers - Is This Real?   LP | CASSETTE 
Wipers - Over The Edge   LP | CASSETTE 
Wipers - Wipers (aka Wipers Tour 84)   LP 


browse collections: 
New Wave collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend