Deep Listening by Pauline Oliveros, Stuart Dempster & Panaiotis on Important Records (the album artwork is a grey-tinted monochrome photograph of the interior of a building with a series of evenly-placed rectangular support struts; the image is surrounded by a wide white border in which the artists' names and album title are printed in grey uppercase text)

Pauline Oliveros, Stuart Dempster & Panaiotis - Deep Listening


  • £39.99

This thirtieth-anniversary definitive edition of Deep Listening combines the complete original 1989 classic release with selected tracks from Pauline Oliveros' Deep Listening Band’s 1991 album The Readymade Boomerang. This elegant double-album reissue includes original and updated recollections from each of the performers and recording engineer Al Swanson, plus a mesostic poem by John Cage, to which these recordings are inextricably linked. 

Recorded in a cistern, Deep Listening reverberates with brilliant sonic clarity and masterfully improvised performances combining live electronics, vocals, trombone and accordion. A classic in the fields of improvisation, minimalism, ambient/drone and modern classical, it is an album that gives back the more you give in. 


"Deep Listening still sounds revolutionary. While drone, minimalism and ambient music have proliferated in the intervening decades, few albums in those fields are as rich texturally and harmonically or have such a clarity of vision. The salience of Deep Listening resides in its contrast to mainstream culture’s riptide trajectory towards distraction and saturation, towards soloed media and political environments” - Pitchfork (9.2 Best New Reissue / #8 Top 50 ambient albums of all time) 


  1. Lear [24:48]
  2. Suiren [9:51]
  3. Nike [10:36]
  4. Ione [17:30]
  5. Deep Listening Band – Balloon Payment  [0:45]
  6. Deep Listening Band – Phantom  [8:49]
  7. Deep Listening Band – Geocentric   [10:45] 


  • US import 
  • Very limited double-LP housed in deluxe gatefold jacket with reinforced 8mm spine  
  • CD housed in jewel case with clear tray 



see also: 
Pauline Oliveros - Electronic Works 1965+1966   CD 
Pauline Oliveros & Guy Klucevsek - Sounding / Way   LP 
Pauline Oliveros - Tara's Room   LP 
Joëlle Léandre, Pauline Oliveros & George Lewis - Play As You Go   CD 


browse collections:  
Experimental & Avant-Garde collection 
Unclassical & Modern Composition collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend