Joni Mitchell - Live At Carnegie Hall 1969


  • £49.99

This deluxe triple-LP set features Joni Mitchell’s complete Carnegie Hall debut, recorded on 1st February 1969. 

Almost a year after she released her debut album, Song to a Seagull, and a few months before her breakthrough second album, Clouds, the twenty-five-year-old singer-songwriter was standing on stage at Carnegie Hall in New York City playing the first major concert of her young career for a sold-out crowd that included Bob Dylan. Graham Nash, who was Mitchell's partner at the time, was there too, along with her parents visiting from Canada. Her performance that night earned glowing reviews, including this one from Billboard's Fred Kirby: 

"Joni Mitchell charmed a packed Carnegie Hall audience on Saturday... Miss Mitchell doesn't merely sing a song, the fine folk artist effectively interprets her material. And what a lineup of material! Beginning with 'Chelsea Morning" and ending with a medley of 'The Circle Game' and the new 'Little Green,' the outstanding material flowed." 

Fatefully, her label Reprise Records recorded the entire concert with plans to release it. More than 50 years later, the show will finally make its long-awaited debut. 



LP1 - First Set: 
  1. Chelsea Morning 
  2. [A Valentine for Joni] 
  3. Cactus Tree 
  4. Night In The City 
  5. I Had A King 
  6. Blue Boy 
  7. [My American Skirt] 
  8. The Fiddle And The Drum 
  9. [Spoony’s Wonderful Adventure] 
  10. That Song About The Midway 
  11. Both Sides Now 
    LP2 - Second Set:  
  12. Marcie 
  13. Nathan La Franeer 
  14. [Intro to The Gallery] 
  15. The Gallery 
  16. Hunter 
  17. Morning Morgantown 
  18. [Intro to Get Together] 
  19. Get Together 
  20. [Intro to The Circle Game/Little Green 
  21. The Circle Game/Little Green 
    LP3 - Encore: 
  22. Michael From Mountains 
  23. [Intro to Urge For Going] 
  24. Urge For Going 


  • Pressed on 180g vinyl 
  • Features etching on side-D 
  • Housed in a deluxe custom triple-gatefold jacket with wide 18mm spine 
  • Includes essay by Graham Nash 
  • Limited-edition of 15,000 



see also: 
Neil Young - Carnegie Hall 1970   LP | CD 


browse collections: 
Sixties collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend