The 1961 Newport Set by John Coltrane on Essential Jazz Classics (the album artwork features a colour photograph of John Coltrane wearing a red polo shirt ad brown slacks while playing an alto saxophone next to a microphone)

John Coltrane - The 1961 Newport Set


  • £12.99

John Coltrane's never before released 1961 performance at the Newport Jazz Festival on Rhode Island. 
At the time, his group consisted of a quintet with Coltrane as the only horn, alongside McCoy Tyner on piano, Art Davis and Reggie Workman each playing a double-bass, and Elvin Jones on drums. 
Marking the first time this set has been presented in the correct pitch, this release also includes another complete performance from the same year, recorded at Kulttuuritalo in Helsinki, Finland, during the tour on which Eric Dolphy joined the group on alto saxophone and flute. 



  1. Announcement [Newport, 1st July 1961] 
  2. Impressions [Newport, 1st July 1961] 
  3. Naima [Newport, 1st July 1961] 
  4. My Favorite Things [Newport, 1st July 1961] 
  5. Blue Train [Helsinki, 22 November 1961] 
  6. I Want To Talk About You [Helsinki, 22 November 1961] 
  7. Impressions [Helsinki, 22 November 1961] 
  8. My Favorite Things [Helsinki, 22 November 1961] 


  • Housed in jewel-case with clear tray 
  • Includes 8-page booklet 


browse collections: 
John Coltrane collection 
Jazz collection 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend