Arthur Russell - Another Thought


  • £29.99

Another Thought was first of Arthur Russell's posthumously-released collections, following his death in 1992. 

Originally released on CD in 1993 by Point Music, the tracks date from between 1982 and 1990, and were carefully selected from over eight-hundred reels of tape catalogued by Mikel Rouse, and produced by Don Christensen. While it is a collection of tracks in various stages of completion, often sparse and direct, it is perhaps the most sonically coherent album ever released of Russell’s material. 

Another Thought includes appearances by trombonist Peter Zummo, percussionist Mustafa Ahmed, additional vocals by composers Julius Eastman and Elodie Lauten, plus Joyce Bowden, Jennifer Warnes and Steven Hall. It stands as an essential testament to a musical genius that still sounds decades ahead of its time. 


  1. Another Thought 
  2. A Little Lost 
  3. Home Away From Home 
  4. Lucky Cloud 
  5. This Is How We Walk On The Moon 
  6. Hollow Tree 
  7. See Through Love 
  8. Keeping Up 
  9. In The Light Of The Miracle 
  10. Lucky Cloud (Return) 
  11. Just A Blip 
  12. Me For Real 
  13. Losing My Taste For The Night Life 
  14. My Tiger, My Timing 
  15. A Sudden Chill 


  • Double-LP pressed on 140g vinyl, and housed in gatefold jacket with insert 
  • CD housed in triple-fold digipack with insert 
  • Includes the original liner notes by Tom Lee and lyrics 
  • Original artwork recreated in collaboration with the photographer Janette Beckman 




also available: 
Arthur Russell - World of Echo   2LP | CD 
Arthur Russell - Calling Out Of Context   2LP | CD 
Arthur Russell - Love Is Overtaking Me   2CD 
Arthur Russell - Corn   CD 
Arthur Russell - Iowa Dream   2LP | CD 


see also: 
Dinosaur L - Go Bang!   7" 
Dinosaur L - In The Corn Belt   7" 
Indian Ocean - School Bell/Treehouse   12" 


books about Arthur Russell: 
Tim Lawrence - Hold On to Your Dreams: Arthur Russell and the Downtown Music Scene 1973-1992   paperback 


view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend