Haiku Salut - The Hill, The Light, The Ghost


  • £19.99

The Hill, The Light, The Ghost is the fifth album by acclaimed electronica trio from the Derbyshire Dales, Haiku Salut. 

A beautiful study of ghosts and memory, the gestation of the record began when Haiku Salut’s Sophie Barkerwood was given a Tascam field recorder. “I carried it around with me in case anything interesting happened. I guess I wanted to capture little pieces of the world in the same way we all take photographs,” explains Sophie. “It wasn’t immediately apparent that we would begin to use these sounds as the architecture for an album but as our writing process evolved the textures of these memories became a bank of inspiration.” 

“We then began actively searching for ghosts in the world and framing the songs around their qualities,” Sophie continues. “Gathering recordings, removing them from their context and building worlds around them. Capturing and preserving personal experiences, and evoking vivid spaces. You could say the record is a miniature exploration of sound in relation to memory. Each piece is intimately connected to a place in time.” A cohesive suite, the nine songs that combine to tell a larger story - that of experience and memory, of precious moments and echoes of past lives. 


  1. Wide Awake 
  2. Entering 
  3. We Need These Beams 
  4. I Dreamed I Was Awake For A Very Long Time 
  5. How The Day Starts 
  6. All Watched Over By Machines Of Loving Grace 
  7. Try Again And Again And Again 
  8. Trespass 
  9. All Clear 


  • LP housed in reverse-board jacket 
  • CD housed in gatefold jacket with 4mm spine 



also available: 
Haiku Salut - Tricolore   LP | CD 
Haiku Salut - Etch And Etch Deep   LP | CD 


browse all new releases... 



We Also Recommend