I Be Trying by Cedric Burnside on Single Lock Records (the album cover is a black and white photograph of Cedric Burnside sat on a log with a guitar looking off camera)

Cedric Burnside - I Be Trying


  • £18.99

Recorded over three days at Royal Studios in Memphis (the home studio of Al Green and Hi Records in the 60s and 70s), I Be Trying is the ultimate statement of purpose for a critically acclaimed artist who has proudly carried the mantle of Mississippi Hill Country blues around the world. 

Over thirteen tracks, Cedric Burnside delivers his bruised but unfettered truth over blistering guitar and deep pocket drums - a sound birthed in his soul but developed and perfected on the road. But no matter how far he travels, the righteous sound he makes could only come from one place; I Be Trying is the sound of modern Mississippi. Produced by second-generation Memphis soul trailblazer Boo Mitchell ('Uptown Funk') and featuring guest appearances from Luther Dickinson (North Mississippi Allstars) and Zac Cockrell (Brittany Howard), 

I Be Trying takes the sound that Burnside learned from his grandfather, blues legend R.L. Burnside, and reinterprets it into a modern, bold Black American sound that expands the sonic landscape while respecting and honouring its roots. 


  1. The World Can Be So Cold
  2. Step In
  3. I Be Trying
  4. You Really Love Me
  5. Love Is The Key
  6. Keep On Pushing
  7. Gotta Look Out
  8. Pretty Flowers
  9. What Makes Me Think
  10. Bird Without A Feather
  11. Hands Off That Girl
  12. Get Down
  13. Love You Forever


  • US import 
  • Limited edition Mississippi-flag coloured vinyl available exclusively from indie stores 
  • LP housed in heavyweight Tip-On gatefold jacket with wide 9mm spine, and presented with obi-strip



view all new releases... 



We Also Recommend