The Lemonheads - It's A Shame About Ray: 30th Anniversary Edition


  • £43.99

This special thirtieth-anniversary edition of The Lemonheads landmark 1992 album, It's A Shame About Ray, includes a slew of extra material, including an unreleased ‘My Drug Buddy’ KCRW session track from 1992 featuring Juliana Hatfield, B-sides from the ‘It’s A Shame About Ray’ and ‘Confetti’ singles, a track from the ‘Mrs. Robinson/Being Round’ EP, alongside demos released here for the first time. The deluxe bookback editions also feature new liner notes and unseen photos. 
It's A Shame About Ray had a considerable impact back in those heady, carefree days of '92, and the record perfectly captures Evan Dando’s ability to effortlessly encapsulate teenage longing and lust over the course of a two-minute pop song. 
Singles such as 'My Drug Buddy' and the breezy perfect-pop of the title track might stand out (plus the add-on of 'Mrs. Robinson' which later copies included), but the album's real strength lies in the tracks in-between; the truly fantastic 'Confetti' (written about Evan's parents' divorce), and the eye-wateringly casual acoustic cover of 'Frank Mills' (from the "hippie" musical Hair), a version that seems to resonate with every ounce of pathos and emotion felt for the lost 1960s generation. To hear Evan Dando sing lines like 'I love him/but it embarrasses me/To walk down the street with him/He lives in Brooklyn somewhere/And he wears his white crash helmet' is to truly appreciate how wonderful and tantalising pop music can be. Then, there's the rush of insurgency and brattishness on the wonderfully truncated 'Bit Part' and the topsy-turvy 'Ceiling Fan In My Spoon'... Thirty year on, It's A Shame About Ray stands as a timelessly flawless pop record, that stills thrill on every listen! Turn it over and put it on again...


Ray sounds revelatory in its restlessness, mixing college pop with country flair and relocating Gus Van Sant's Portland atmosphere to New England” - Pitchfork ★★★★½ 


It's A Shame About Ray: 
  1. Rockin' Stroll 
  2. Confetti 
  3. It's A Shame About Ray 
  4. Rudderless 
  5. My Drug Buddy 
  6. The Turnpike Down 
  7. Bit Part 
  8. Alison's Starting To Happen 
  9. Hannah & Gabi 
  10. Kitchen 
  11. Ceiling Fan In My Spoon 
  12. Frank Mills 
Essential Extras: 
  1. Mrs Robinson 
  2. Shakey Ground 
  3. My Drug Buddy (KCRW Session, 1992) 
  4. Knowing Me, Knowing You (Acoustic) 
  5. Confetti (Acoustic) 
  6. Alison's Starting To Happen (Acoustic) 
  7. Divan 
Demo Recordings: 
  1. It's A Shame About Ray (Demo) 
  2. Rockin' Stroll (Demo) 
  3. My Drug Buddy (Demo) 
  4. Hannah & Gabi (Demo) 
  5. Kitchen (Demo) 
  6. Bit Part (Demo) 
  7. Rudderless (Demo) 
  8. Ceiling Fan In My Spoon (Demo) 
  9. Confetti (Demo) 


  • 30th anniversary remastered edition including an entire disc of bonus tracks 
  • Limited-edition deluxe bookback double-LP housed in 320mm x 320mm hardback book with 14mm spine and 24-pages of new liner notes and unseen photographs 
  • Limited-edition deluxe bookback double-CD housed in 193mm x 142mm hardback book with 12mm spine, including new liner notes and photographs 
  • Standard double-LP housed in gatefold jacket with 6mm spine 
  • Standard double-CD housed in gatefold card jacket with 6mm spine 
  • LP contains high-quality download coupon 






also available: 
The Lemonheads - Lovey: 30th Anniversary Edition   2LP | 2CD 


browse all new releases... 



We Also Recommend