Kath Bloom & Loren Connors - Sand In My Shoe


  • £20.99

Reissue of 1983 private-press folk album by revered Connecticut duo Kath Bloom and Loren Connors. 

The extraordinary creative partnership of New Haven, Connectict duo Kath Bloom and Loren Connors has haunted folk fans since the early 80s. Kath taught herself guitar during shifts as a janitor at a New Haven cemetery, while Loren’s free-form style had been developing since the late 60s. Between 1981 and 1984, the duo recorded six studio albums, mostly self-released in tiny quantities. Early on, their music mixed folk and blues traditionals with a handful of Kath’s vulnerable, moving originals. By the later albums the songs were all Kath’s - her fragile voice and subdued finger-picking set against Loren’s abstract but always supportive playing. Together the duo created a sound almost impossibly emotional and haunting. 

Sand In My Shoe emerged in 1983 as the first release on Loren’s new label St. Joan, in an edition of 200-300 copies with handmade sleeves. Two more albums followed before the prodigious duo parted ways in 1984. Kath did not release anything again until a 1993 solo cassette, but then developed a devoted cult following through the pivotal use of her song 'Come Here' in Richard Linklater’s 1995 film Before Sunrise. Kath has since released three solo albums on Chapter Music, as well as the tribute album Loving Takes This Course, featuring the likes of Bill Callahan, Mark Kozelek, Devendra Banhart and Josephine Foster. Loren also retreated from music for a period until re-emerging in the late 1980s. He is now recognised as a pioneering guitar explorer, and has worked with Thurston Moore, Keiji Haino and Jim O’Rourke. 

After reissuing Kath & Loren’s four studio albums on CD in the late 2000s, Chapter has now embarked on the first ever vinyl reissues for these remarkable records. Restless Faithful Desperate (1984) was reissued in 2018, while Moonlight (1984) was released alongside Sand In My Shoe in 2019. 

Sand In My Shoe includes five digital-only bonus tracks from the 1982 live EP Pushin’ Up Daisies, as well as comprehensive digital liner notes. 

“Kath Bloom...can snap a heart like a twig” - Pitchfork 

"Its beauty is almost baffling” - AV Club 


  1. We’re On Our Way 
  2. Window 
  3. Give It Slow 
  4. Baby Now 
  5. You Make My Dreams Come True 
  6. My Stupid Little Heart 
  7. I’m As Good As I Want To Be 
  8. Sand In My Shoe 
  9. When You Smile 
  10. This River 
  11. Same Streets 
  12. Seems Like I’m Always Waiting For You 
  13. Since I Met You 
Digital download bonus tracks 
  1. Little Tree (live) 
  2. Swing Low Sweet Chariot (live) 
  3. Loren’s Blues (live) 
  4. Lay My Burden Down (live) 
  5. Kath’s Blues (live) 


  • Australian import 
  • Contains download coupon with digital bonus tracks 




also available: 
Kath Bloom & Loren Connors - Restless Faithful Desperate   LP 
Kath Bloom & Loren Connors - Moonlight   LP 


see also: 
Loren Connors - Beautiful Dreamer   10" 
Loren Connors & Oren Ambarchi - Leone   LP 


browse collections: 
Chapter Music collection 



We Also Recommend