The Pop Group - Y


  • £23.99

Y is the highly influential and innovative debut album by The Pop Group, originally released in 1979. The Pop Group formed in Bristol in 1977 out of a sense of disenchantment with the increasing conservatism of punk. 

This fortieth-anniversary edition has been remastered and is presented with the original artwork, and also includes both tracks from the band's first single, She Is Beyond Good And Evil, released the same year. 

The band went on to release a further two singles, We Are All Prostitutes and Where There Is A Will (a split-single with The Slits) and a further studio album For How Much Do We Tolerate Mass Murder, before splitting up in 1981. 


"The Pop Group were unique in that every song on their hugely influential album Y seemed like it could fall apart at any moment, but even in their loosest moments they somehow managed to contain the turmoil long enough to create something bold, dramatic, meticulously organized" - Pop Matters, Top 50 Best Post-Punk Albums Ever 

"This is a record of dire necessity, armed for combat against a long litany of ills - none more than typicality" - Pitchfork, Top 100 Albums of the 1970s (#35) 

"A maelstrom of dub and distortion effects, a tempest of extremes… Rage, terror, anguish, all hurtle past and round you: time and space feel violently mutable. Digital technology may have made all the cut-and-paste herein easy, but it's never produced so deliriously, maddeningly protean a piece of music" - Wire, 100 Most Important Records Ever Made 

"Y sounded incandescent, incendiary; as if the relics of rock were being melted before our very ears…years have done nothing to lessen the sheer weirdness of Y. In fact, time has only intensified its bizarreness. In the destranged world of today’s ‘alternative’ rock, the album sounds more impossible than ever… Joy Division’s Closer is often considered the crown jewel of post-punk, but Y - inchoate with potential, the fire to Joy Division’s ice - has an equal claim" - Mark Fisher, FACT Magazine 


  1. Thief Of Fire
  2. Snowgirl
  3. Blood Money
  4. Savage Sea
  5. We Are Time
  6. Words Disobey Me
  7. Don't Call Me Pain
  8. Boys From Brazil
  9. Don't Sell Your Dreams
  1. She Is Beyond Good And Evil
  2. 3:38


  • LP cut using half-speed mastering at Abbey Road Studios, and includes bonus 12", poster, and download coupon 
  • Features the original artwork 




also available: 
The Pop Group - Y Live!   LP 
The Pop Group - Y In Dub   2LP | CD | CASSETTE 


browse collections: 
New Wave collection 



We Also Recommend