Mississippi Blues 1927-1941 on Yazoo Records

Various - Mississippi Blues (1927-1941)


  • £24.99

Will be in stock after

Since its inception during the late 1960s, Yazoo Records has long been considered the standard-bearer for the rural roots sounds of America. From its ranks came collection after collection of some of the rarest early blues, jazz, country, folk, and gospel artists in music history, re-introducing the world to lost legends like Ma Rainey, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Mississippi John Hurt, and many more. Artists whose impact has been felt generations later, and continue to inspire and influence.

This class of artist can be found all across the 14 tracks of Mississippi Blues, a compilation of country blues music originally released in 1968, and now re-issued here decades later. Featuring tracks recorded between 1927 and 1941, and an artist lineup that is the stuff of legends: Charley Patton, Robert Johnson, Son House, Skip James, Mattie Delaney, and so many more.


  1.  Harvey Hull & Long "Cleve" Reed - Gang Of Brown Skin Women
  2. Henry Sims - Be True Be True Blues
  3. William Harris - I'm Leavin' Town
  4. Skip James - Special Rider Blues
  5. Skip James - Cypress Grove Blues
  6. Charley Patton - Hang It On The Wall
  7. Geechie Wiley - Eagles On A Half
  8. Mattie Delaney - Tallahatchie River Blues
  9. John Byrd - Billy Goat Blues
  10. Charley Patton - Mean Black Moan
  11. Charley Patton - Pea Vine Blues
  12. Bobby Grant - Nappy Head Blues
  13. Son House - Delta Blues
  14. Robert Johnson - Dead Shrimp Blues

We Also Recommend